Posted by: thequaches | December 9, 2008

What a fun (and busy) weekend!

december-5-6-2008-lg-tree-lighting-parade-schoenfelders-015

We went to the Los Gatos tree lighting ceremony Friday night!  It was soooo cold!!!!  We brought dinner and a picnic blanket (the one mom made us — family size!).  We enjoyed some caroling (kind of, this man was trying to get us to join him in singing some Christmas songs! They even had the lyrics printed out!)… and then at exactly 6:00 PM (when Matthew decided he HAD to go pee… they lit the tree!  So, he missed out on the anticipated moment, but all was fine! 

I am going to upload the pictures tomorrow night… I am feeling rather sick this evening!

But before I turn in, let me finish the weekend events here.

On Saturday morning, we woke up bright and early to attend the Los Gatos annual Childrens’ Parade.  Wow, what a huge turn out!  Traffic everywhere!  Limited parking space and people everywhere!  Luckily, we were provided door to door service from Jim.  He dropped us off so that we could enjoy the parade with Clare.  The children had a great time!

Matthew’s highlight was the bicyclists doing their stunt off of a ramp.

december-5-6-2008-lg-tree-lighting-parade-schoenfelders-040

Morgan’s highlight was “seeing” Emma on a float.  I put seeing in quotes because although we thought we saw her, she was facing the other direction and we weren’t really certain it was her!  But. Morgan was excited none the less.  Thank goodness we ran into Nicole (Emma’s mom) before the parade and she described the truck that Emma would be riding in.

After the long parade (over 200 entries!), we went back to Jim and Clare’s house for lunch.  Lunch turned out to be a bit more than we expected…  We stayed later than we should have – not that Jim and Clare would kick us out!  The children had such a great ime so we continued to stay.  Which then caused me to forget a birthday party we had originally said we would attend!  Anyway, we ended up staying long enough to help Jim and Clare pick out their Christmas tree for their front yard (a neighborhood tradition for many years).

december-5-6-2008-lg-tree-lighting-parade-schoenfelders-109

 

Later that evening, our tired family went to bed… and now 4 out of the 5 of us are sick, sick, sick!!!  Morgan may be able to walk away from this since she was sick last time!  Poor Ethan and Matthew have a terrible runny nose!  Vince and I are feeling that tickle in the throat!  So, I’d better go off to bed now.

I can’t wait to tell you all about my latest craft — freezer paper stenciling courtesy of Amanda Soule’s book The Creative Family.

I am making Peter’s Christmas gift here…

december-8-2008-freezer-paper-stencil-craft-001

I’m hoping not to give too much away in case Karen actually reads my blog!  (ha!  I know she isn’t… she’s too busy!)

december-8-2008-freezer-paper-stencil-craft-013

Such a fun and easy project.  I made M&M new shirts for their Christmas gift.  Hopefully Morgan will help me make some more during her Christmas break.  We need to make some for our friends Sydney, Ella, and Madison.  Madison’s 10th birthday came and went… I’ve been so busy!  Sorry, Madison!  Something is coming for you — shortly!

Responses

  1. I’ll keep my fingers crossed that you’ll be healthy soon!

    Can’t wait to hear about your Freezer paper stenciling. I bought the parchment paper, but haven’t gotten the paint yet. Perhaps you can give me tips before I begin…


Leave a Reply

Categories

