Posted by: thequaches | May 4, 2009

Freezer Paper T-Shirts

I LOVE making freezer paper shirts… so I finally decided to get the children involved.  I am also going to make Madison a new shirt… to make up for the previous one I sent her that I feel did not turn out the way it should have!

Matthew picked out his favorite shirt, which was given to him by the Toblers.  It reminds him of Andy Z, and of course, he wanted a race car on it!  So, here’s what we did:

I printed a picture of a race car:

may-2-2009-freezer-paper-tshirts-001

I traced it on freezer paper (NOT the same as parchment or wax!) and  cut out the picture:

may-2-2009-freezer-paper-tshirts-002

Then I placed a sheet of freezer paper IN the shirt (so when he paints later, the paint does not leak through) and ironed the freezer paper on the front of his shirt:

may-2-2009-freezer-paper-tshirts-004

Then he went to town with the painting (use fabric paint)!

may-2-2009-freezer-paper-tshirts-008

Morgan is working on a gift for her Daisy Troop.  She picked out a daisy:

may-2-2009-freezer-paper-tshirts-009

Trace, cut (an exacto knife would have been really helpful here!), iron:

may-2-2009-freezer-paper-tshirts-011

Paint: (she has 7 more to go if this is successful!)

may-2-2009-freezer-paper-tshirts-014

Come back tomorrow to see the final project revealed!  VERY cute!

Responses

  1. I can’t wait to see the final products…I wanna try! So crafty!


Leave a Reply

Categories

